Mama K (CD5K), Training (read: Practicing)

Ain’t no thing but a chicken wing.

Well, that was it. After a few really unflattering videos of me slogging in the park, my husband confirmed that my arms morph into chicken wings when I get tired. And I get tired when I chest breathe. What a lovely little budding relationship those two things have. *sarcasm*

I’m happy to say that with a little coaching from Sole Daddy Knox, I am learning to run mindfully in hopes to turn my slog into a nice little jog. Anytime I found myself chest breathing, I stopped and walked until I could get back to good belly breathing, then I’d start again. I also learned that to have proper arm swing it needs to feel a little awkward right now. When we watched the videos together I could see that my hands would naturally gravitate toward my midline and my arms would swing from side to side with my elbows pointing outward. It wasn’t a huge side to side swing, but it was noticeable, especially when I was tired. I was coached to keep my elbows closer to my body and really focus on moving my arms in the same plane of my movement (front to back). As I would swing my arms front to back, had to tell myself to point my elbows down so they would stay close to my body- they always wanted to drift out which did not help me conserve energy. Keeping my elbows close to my body and feeling like I had to point them “down” during the swing definitely felt wrong, but in the videos it looked right. It’ll take some getting used to.

So there you have it. Chicken wings-bad, pointing elbows down- good. Chest breathing= fatigue -bad, belly breathing= efficiency – good. That’s my two cents on how to reduce shoulder/neck pain and fatigue while slogging. With a little more practice I should be at jogging status in no time.

-Mama K

Leave a Reply

