Life with Kids, Mama D

Chaos Theory

Have you ever used the phrase “running around in circles”? Negative implications- wasting time, unproductive, not getting anything accomplished. Why is it then, when I run laps, do I feel oh so productive? I can see a big black Sharpie in my mind crossing off laps on my mental to do list. Lap 1- big fat “X” through it. Lap 2- nice neat black line drawn. Lap 3- scribbled over until unreadable…

I can work myself through a run so much easier when running in a circle- “I only have to pass this tree 3 more times and then I’m done”, “You’ve already done 5, what’s one more”?, “You can walk the next one- but you’ve made it this far”…

Many people think running laps is boring, but to me, it’s predictable, calming. I always know how far I’ve gone and how far it is to finish the next lap. I always know what’s coming up and what to expect. Exactly opposite of what we mamas deal with daily. Running laps is the small way I can try and control the chaos. Sometimes boring isn’t so bad…

Mama D

1 thought on “Chaos Theory”

  1. Hi Mama D, your post really resonated with me because I’ve felt the same way about my walking route. Keep up the excellent posts!

    Like

Leave a Reply

