Life with Kids, Mama K (CD5K), Training (read: Practicing), Where I'm at now...

Yoga: Keep Calm and Carry On

533980_477528118928951_731376149_n
https://www.facebook.com/YogaMemes?ref=tn_tnmn

I’ve been trying to go out for a run for the past 5 days. “Life” has had a different plan for me each day. I’ve been frustrated and disappointed that I haven’t been able to “train.” But I have been able get in a few Vinyasa Yoga workouts (and by few I mean maybe 1?). I don’t know why I don’t feel that yoga is a true workout, it absolutely is and I can’t understand why I feel that way. Maybe it’s because I am not sweating buckets and beet red. Maybe it’s because I feel like I’ve had a massage afterwards. Maybe it’s because I feel more grounded and connected. I’m not sure. So like anytime I’m not sure, I do some research. I really like this article that I found from Yoga Journal. Aside from the pain prevention that yoga practice can bring, it speaks about striking a balance between strength and flexibility. But what I really love is how it speaks about Body Wisdom. Body Wisdom is about being in tune to your muscles, your energy levels, and your reserves. This concept really resonates with me because I feel like my capabilities fluctuate from hour to hour; depending on how much sleep I get, how busy my work schedule is, and how much I feel that my children have zapped from me. This is so important to me because I can get a little anxious when my fellow Soleful Mamas are out pounding the pavement and I feel like someone needs to scrape me off of the pavement. The idea of Body Wisdom allows me not to be so hard on myself.

http://www.yogajournal.com/lifestyle/192

After really thinking about why I like yoga so much I figured out that part of it is because yoga works on running from the bottom up. As an Occupational Therapist, a big part of our job is analyzing tasks and consequently strengthening those skills that make up that task. Yoga does that for running – strengthening the core, elongating the muscles, and working on the breath…

After further thinking about it – this is the definition of cross-training. DUH! I’ll just end it there for today, I can see where this is going. 🙂

http://www.runnersworld.com/stretching/running-and-yoga-go-hand-hand

– Mama K

1 thought on “Yoga: Keep Calm and Carry On”

  1. Mama K, you are so right that the cross train is so important and something I neglect to do! You have challenged me to do my first ever yoga workout! Will let you know how it goes!

    Like

Leave a Reply

