Life with Kids, Mama K (CD5K), Where I'm at now...

I <3 FUN RUNS! Funky Santa 5K

“Love many things, for therein lies the true strength, and whosoever loves much performs much, and can accomplish much, and what is done in love is done well.”  – Vincent Van Gogh

photo (3)

I love the spirit of fun runs, especially runs during the holiday season. The Funky Santa 5K in Pottstown, PA always delivers a really great Sunday morning in December. Today the snow was still fresh and icicles on the trees were sort of starting to melt.  It was slushy and cold, but I loved looking around and seeing other families from my church, neighbors, friends, my children’s friends, and costumes.  I loved feeling the vibration of excitement in the air.  I loved returning smiles to fellow runners and compliments on festive socks. I loved the smell of hot dogs cooking at 9am and the speakers blasting music to keep the energy high.  These kinds of races always feel more like a celebration of life than it does a competition…and what a beautiful morning and setting for a late fall run.

photo 1     photo 2  Photos found on Breakaway Sports Facebook page

It’s because of these races and friends and family that I feel confident enough to go after some running goals that I have. Today was one of those “Days of Accomplishment”.  For the past few months, I’ve wanted to run a 5K in 32:00 minutes or less (my secret goal which will no longer be a secret in a few seconds is a sub 30 minute 5K…in 2014).  I hadn’t run under 32:00 since before the 3rd babe arrived. The main goal from the end of 2012 – 2013 was to survive the 1st year with 3 kids and a full-time job.  Putting on my running shoes whenever I could manage were little accomplishments in themselves… I was definitely not worried about time. Since the baby turned one in October, it was time to set a new running goal. I didn’t want to say it out loud because I was afraid I may not be able to achieve it. But I did a few weeks ago and it was a good thing. Sharing goals out loud with friends make them real and it most certainly holds me accountable to do something about them.  So with a little focused training, I did it.  I finished the Funky Santa 5K with a time of about 31:30 and somehow managed to come in 5th place in my age group.  While official times haven’t been posted yet, Mama D ran about a 28 minute 5K and came in 3rd in her age group.  Not bad for a couple of Sloggers!

photo

The Gingerbread Clan – 3 person relay team in the 11-14 age group

It really was the perfect way to start the day! This holiday season I hope you find strength, goals, and accomplishments as you do the things that you love. I also hope you create the memories of a lifetime with your friends and families as you blaze your trails of awesomeness. Be inspired today (even if it’s just to wear spandex under your shorts and some Christmas suspenders)!

photo 2 (1)

Sidebar funny story – For the last 3rd of the race I had my eye on a woman who was running in a great jingle bell skirt and fun Santa hat.  She had the perfect pace for me to try to catch.  After coming in behind her, I found her at the water station:

Me:  “You did really great, I worked really hard to keep up with you.”

Jingle Bell Skirt: “Oh gosh, I was so slow.” *chuckle*

Me:  “Oh.” *walks away*

Me – Later: Still disappointed that she is obviously not proud to be a Slogger, but realized she must have had her own goals today.

Scroll through the Pottstown Mercury‘s photo album of the race this morning and see if you can find a few of us!  http://media.pottsmerc.com/2013/12/15/photos-funky-santa-5k/

Read more quotes like the one above at http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/keywords/accomplish.html

Find more Berks & Montgomery County races at Breakaway Sports.

Leave a Reply

