Mama K (CD5K), Training (read: Practicing)

Aftershokz – Bone Conduction Technology

If you’re anything like me, you may make yourself nervous sometimes with how loud you crank up the volume in your headphones. I’m usually trying to drown out the world around me. Dogs barking, the sound of my feet slapping the treadmill, the sound of my ragged breathing, anyone saying “mom…Mom…MOM!”. I look to get away from it all, but amidst my escape I know that I’m giving my poor little inner ear a beating. But what choices have I had? All the headphones I’ve ever had have been ear buds that I shove as far inside my little ear canal so they stay put (until I start sweating and they slide right out).  Ever the gadget collector, my husband just got a pair of these Aftershokz open ear headphones that use the principle of bone conduction to transmit the vibrations that turn into sound instead of air conduction.  Here’s Ryan wearing them:

20140309-112743.jpg

20140309-112752.jpg

20140309-112801.jpg

Here’s a video anatomy lesson that compares hearing through air conducted vibrations and bone conducted vibrations:

This video is just cool and shows the safety and benefits of Aftershokz:

Ryan loves these headphones for all the reasons listed in the video above.  I’m definitely going to check them out on my next outdoor run and see what I think, but I have a feeling I’m going to really like them!  For more information, check out www.aftershokz.com

Happy (safe) Running!

Leave a Reply

