Life with Kids, Mama K (CD5K), Training (read: Practicing), Where I'm at now...

Huh, what? There’s a race in less than 48 hours?

To say I haven’t trained for the Broad Street 10-miler run that’s coming up this Sunday is a gross understatement. Unless, of course, you consider blerching a proper method of preparation. In that case, I was on point every single week.  Sure I ran a few times (mostly I walked them with the dogs), and yes I did some stretches (in the kitchen while stirring spaghetti at the stove),  but mostly I mentally got “in the zone” by exchanging multiple weekly texts with Mama D about how we think we forgot how to run.

My problem with running a marathon is two-fold.  1) I found myself mentally and physically drained from the entire experience. The months of training in all kinds of weather, hours on the treadmill, and constant focus on the goal. It’s left me never saying “today feels like a great day to go for a run.”  Even as Spring is serving up gorgeous 40 and 50 degree sunny mornings at 6am, it’s just not enough to get me going.  Heck, I haven’t even wanted to write about it.  2) I think I can do really hard things without getting ready.  I tell myself things like “Oh, I can run/walk 10 miles after weeks of eating chips and fried chicken and watching lots of TV. I’ve got fresh legs now!” and other things like “Self, just 4 months ago you did 16 more than 10 and you were just fine. No worries!”

Over the past few months I’ve told myself that it’s okay to give this hard-working body a break. Which I wholeheartedly believe that rest periods are necessary for recover and growth.  In the future, however, I’ll just have to remember not to sign up for races during said rest period.  So we’ll see how this goes!  I already know I’m not going to win, but I do know that since this is my first 10 mile race I’ll finish with a PR and that it’ll be a really great time.

Good luck to all the Broad Street Runners!

-Mama K

P.S. If you want to read more about blerching, click on the word above.  I highly recommend that everyone read The Terrible & Wonderful Reasons Why I Run Long Distances by Matt Inman (AKA The Oatmeal).  It’s hilarious, and insightful, and just plain ol’ fun!

 

Leave a Reply

