Mama K (CD5K), Training (read: Practicing)

A Sentimental Start to Taper Week 

Before I fell asleep last night my last thoughts and feelings were of a strong mix of pride and nervousness with a touch of sadness. I couldn’t believe that the training for this next half marathon was coming to an end. Mama D and I have been in training mode since late Novemeber as we prepared for the Glass Slipper Challenge, which then lead right into this training for the Coastal Delaware half marathon race. As I drifted off to sleep I was surprised that was the way I was feeling. I didn’t expect that at all. For the last few weeks I’ve been on the verge of training burnout with trying to squeeze in all the runs and cross training and rest. Mama C, Mama D and I planned to hit the trail for our last long run to start the taper week. Mama D’s plan called for 12 miles while Mama C and my “plan” called for 8.

This morning I woke up to a text from Mama D: why do I have butterflies like its race day? 

Me: Because this is it! It’s the last run we’ll remember before race day….today is a big day. It just is. 

And then she was off to run from her house to the trail head in the next town over. I told her I’d be waiting there for her with a smile. 

  
And then we were off together for a little trail therapy.  It was the most simple and most beautiful morning for a run. 45 degrees and not a cloud in the sky. We couldn’t have asked for better conditions. It was as if time stood still for us to stay in one long moment of peace and connectedness. Sure my legs were hurting from 150 wall balls yesterday, but it didn’t matter. My soul was free and at rest. Our time together went so quickly and I think it’s the trail. There is something magical about being surrounded by trees and the sound of the earth quietly crunching beneath each step. It almost feels other worldly. I wish I could describe it the way it deserves to be illustrated, but I think it’s something real to be felt. 

I’m so thankful for the time Fidelity Foxes have spent together. Even though we haven’t all been able to train together for our runs, we’ve been supporting and encouraging each other throughout the entire process. We CrossFit together when we can, swim together when we can, and most importantly, eat together when we can. It’s been a really satisfying experience. My “sole” is happy! 

Here are some of our final training pictures. 

   
   
   

  
 Until next week! 

#racedayiscoming

-Mama K 

Leave a Reply

