Life with Kids, Mama K (CD5K), Training (read: Practicing), Where I'm at now...

Ben and Amelia said it best…

Ever since my “rest week” when I was away on vacation my motivation level for working out has been zero.  This past week I didn’t go to CrossFit, I didn’t wake up to swim, I’ve run a total of 9 miles over the course of the whole week. That’s it. I don’t know if it’s the heat, my busy work schedule, my burning desire to purge and get rid of everything in the house to reorganize, the kids whining, or a combination of everything.  I am really working on forgiving myself for a lot of things.  Putting exercise on the back burner for a little while being one of them.  To grant oneself the permission to just go with the ebb and flow of raising a family is a beautiful thing. Unfortunately, I know that once I’m out of my routine I can’t get started again and then I lose a lot of ground.  And I know that if anything in life is going to get done you need a solid plan, especially me and my workout routine.  Needless to say, my “training” for the upcoming Marshman Triathlon and Ragnar Relay races in September have been scattered and practically non-existent because I have no plan.  I haven’t even wanted a plan.  But the wise words of Benjamin Franklin ring so true here:

“By failing to prepare, you are preparing to fail.” 

Yep, I am living proof of this quote this week.  So in the spirit of a new month, I will print out a plan for Ragnar (thank you Maureen for finding one and sharing it) and I will dust off my old bike. I will get back to a morning swim routine, and go to bed earlier.  I will eat a little healthier and I’ll figure out my CrossFit days.  But first I’m going to sit out back and drink a cup of coffee. Then I’ll be ready. Next Tuesday. After the 4th of July holiday weekend. Maybe….Hopefully.  YES. 


Thanks, Amelia.  You’re right.  I guess there’s only one thing left to do: put on my shorts and Hokas, raise my mug, and say “Cheers! Here’s to a new month and new goals.” It’s never too late to hit the reset button!

Keep moving forward,

Mama K

Leave a Reply

