Mama K (CD5K), Training (read: Practicing), Where I'm at now...

Block the Noise

I felt so good about my brick workout yesterday. I rode 12 miles with my husband in 53:49, which was about a 13 min/mile pace and then I ran 2 miles in 22:02 minutes.  I was really proud of myself.  I was hoping I’d feel OK during the bike because I knew I was going to feel crummy for my run.  I was doing this workout on tired legs and I knew I hadn’t practiced transitioning from the ride to the run more than 2 times so I was mentally prepared to trudge through the awkwardness of running on bike legs.

 

So I was really excited yesterday for doing all of that before breakfast.  But then the mental war with the Sole Blockers started last night and this morning.

“You really didn’t do that much.” 

“Your run was really slow…not good enough.”

“Only 12 miles on the bike? That’s not very impressive.  It was all flat.” 

So as I sit here and type this, I’m working really hard on combating the Sole Blockers of discouragement and doubt.  I’m trying to maintain my confidence and the good vibes that I picked up along the way yesterday.  I’m already nervous about this event and have thought about bowing out of the triathlon because I haven’t trained much for it. Mainly because of working long hours and being so tired from the summer and kid commitments.  I even told Mama D a few weeks ago that I was thinking about not racing and just coming to watch her.  She supported my decision, but told me to give it a few days and see how I felt after some rest and giving myself a little break.

We had a text message conversation late last week deciding that we’d survive it (one way or another) with a lot of laughs and another story to tell.   I was back to feeling like maybe I could do it.  And then yesterday I felt REALLY good about being able to cross both the start and the finish line.  This morning I am back to feeling like maybe I should participate as a cheerleader.

And then….just when I was beating myself up the most for sitting on the couch, drinking a cup of coffee and thinking “You should really be out there riding your bike again and not lying around“… I saw this Facebook post from a fellow Mama that renewed my faith in myself and my capabilities.

Mama W is an incredible CrossFit athlete and is training with us for her first half marathon ever (she’s even going all out and doing the Glass Slipper Challenge in Disney in February which is 19.3 miles).  I am so thankful for her words of encouragement this morning.  She showed me I have to block the noise of doubt and fear and discouragement and dig deep  mentally so I can keep moving forward.

Mama W says:

Hold tight to your commitment. 

Beginning something is easy. Finishing it, on the other hand takes courage. Everyone starts off motivated and excited.

But when that emotional rush wears off and all that’s left is a lot of hard work and the need for patience, that is when you find out if you really have what it takes to succeed.

There is no promise that achieving what you want will be easy. IT’S f*cking hard!! We all have a different level of what’s hard. I feel like I suck at it all most days. I feel like I should be further than I am, but I refuse to let anything or anyone stop my goals. Extraordinary achievement requires extraordinary effort.

If you’ve been tempted to quit- don’t. Whether it’s a WOD, lifting those barbells or running miles….Let this be the time you hold tight to your commitments and bring your dreams to life. Always dig deep and fight for it.

 

positivity

That’s it. After reading that I declared that I was going to do the Marshman Triathlon and I was absolutely finish what I started.  And even if I finish last, it doesn’t mean I failed.  It will still be a great victory.

Keep pushing,

– Mama K and Mama W

Leave a Reply

