Life with Kids, Mama K (CD5K), nutrition, Where I'm at now...

Project Me – Do Over 

I started writing this yesterday and had to finish it this evening because life just keeps getting busier by the moment!

I’ll start with a confession. I have a really hard pattern to break, which is (deep breath) the roller coaster ride of preparing and eating healthy meals, then speeding downhill into fast dinners, take out, and cravings for salty comfort foods.   I made it through 4 weeks of better eating and better monitoring of what I was doing to my body.  Better meaning 70/30.  70% good and 30% really naughty (like maybe even a Burger King Whopper and fries naughty).  But mostly I was really thoughtful about my meals.  I continuously rediscovered that I struggle the most with the hunger that strikes at 3:30-4:30pm.  While I’m cooking dinner is the worst and I am somehow NEVER EVER prepared for this. But again, I was proud of myself for doing mostly well.

Then a burst of life hit with an amplified busyness of the regular days. I wish I could pinpoint the reason, but I can’t.  I was getting ready for our Disney trip, we had been up to running 12 miles on the weekends, work activities, sick kids, and all around stress. I got really hungry a lot and really felt the need for dinners that were fatty and oh so delicious. I traded my fish for things like grilled steak, rice and beans, bacon, Chinese food, pizza, Chicken Marsala with spaghetti, and everything in between.  And now, here we are, 2 weeks and 1 day post 19.3.  I’ve run only 2 miles since then, which feels embarrassing to say out loud because I know all my friends have still been going to CrossFit, waking up and running anywhere between 10-17 miles, and continuing their workouts.

I expected my crash and burn. I was prepared for it. I knew I was going to need a mental break and that I wasn’t going to feel like working out, but I didn’t know how long the burn would linger.  The problem over the past two weeks is that I’ve been eating like I’m still training for our race weekend, but clearly I’m not.   This obviously leads to a hundred thousand million negative thoughts about body image and a boat load of guilt that I’m trying to shrug off.  It’s only when I look at my medal rack can I snap out of the ridiculously immature & self-deprecating thoughts. The struggle is SO real. But so are these reminders that my body has done really difficult and amazing things.  I need to find that space of gratitude that you have when you have the opportunity to see a sunrise in the morning.

photo credit: RP Knox, @foreknox


Even so, I can’t bear the thought of getting on the scale this evening (or tomorrow morning for that matter), folks. I’m sorry, but I just can’t do it.  And knowing that a mega Nor’ Easter is about to hit our area while we’re sleeping tonight I’m going to practice forgiveness and am committing to working on my nutrition this week. If workouts happen, great. If they don’t, fine. If I can focus on healthy meals and getting back on track that way then I’ll feel a hundred times better later in the week when we can get outside again.  So here’s how it’s gone so far the past two days and what my ideas are for the rest of the week.

My entry from Sunday (Yesterday):

Breakfast – homemade banana bread is in the oven cooking. I substituted the all purpose flour for coconut and almond flour. I still used the brown sugar but not as much as the recipe called for. The butter situation is what it is. I like using the fancy Finlandia imported butter made with no hormone cows milk, but whatever.  Butter is butter and lets not kid ourselves, I’ll use any kind of butter because it’s awesome.  We’ll see how it turns out.

*I just looked in the oven to see how it’s cooking and it looks terrible. I’m blaming it on the stupid almond and coconut flour, cause it sure ain’t a butter issue. Hopefully it’s at least edible.


**A baker I am not.


Surprise! It turned out amazing! That said, I probably could’ve cut the sugar to almost zero because the bananas were so ripe and sweet. I’ll do that next time.

Lunch – homemade crock pot minestrone soup that I made on Saturday. I found the recipe on Pinterest and it turned out amazing.

 

Loaded with lots of super veggies and two types of beans, I was really excited that this turned out really well because it made a ton of soup.

Here’s a beginning picture. I later added the beans, spinach, and green beans. I added a small amount of pasta last. Click on this caption to get to the recipe.

Dinner- Sirloin steak (because we’ll likely be eating chicken the rest of the week); 1/3 cup of rice and beans, 1 small scoop of broccoli salad.

Today’s entry – Monday:

Breakfast – cup of coffee with creamer and monk fruit sugar substitute, 2 slices of Ezekiel bread with 1/2 avocado mashed on top with one slice of turkey breast on top of that and sliced tomatoes.

Lunch- 1.5 cups of the homemade minestrone soup. It was even better today after sitting for 2 days. I sprinkled a little bit of feta on top and WOW.  Life changing.

Dinner- Baked chicken thighs, salad and baked plain sweet potato.

In no particular order, here are some of my other breakfast ideas for the rest of the week:

  • Banana bread crumbled up and mixed with plain Greek yogurt? It’s so sweet I figure I could try it.
  • Baked Oatmeal – from the Snow Day blog post 3 years ago! This was a big hit and I think I’ll need to pull it out again for tomorrow’s blizzard.
  • Mini egg cakes found on Pinterest 

    img_2292

Lunch ideas:

  • Turkey, mashed avocado, and tomato sandwich on Ezekial bread was awesome and so filling. I will definitely make this again this week.
  • Homemade “Recovery” Chicken Soup taken and modified from a Detox and Immune boosting soup found on Eat Yourself Skinny. This filled with veggies and spices like turmeric to combat inflammation. No noodles, but added chick peas. I’m going to change it up a bit more and add sweet potato chunks.  The thing I love most about this recipe is that it uses rotisserie chicken, which makes life a hundred million thousand times easier.
  • Tuna sandwich with Ezekiel bread and mashed avocado instead of mayo; loaded with red onion, carrots, celery and capers. Sounds delicious and filling and good for me, as long as I don’t allow myself to eat a half a bag of chips with it.  #problems
  • Perhaps some of the egg cakes I mentioned above for breakfast can be used for a delicious lunch too.

Dinner Thoughts:

  • Fish Tacos – I’ve got frozen Mahi Mahi filet and I think that would be awesome paired with salsa, homemade simple cabbage slaw, and avocado.
  • Slow Cooker Honey Sriracha Chicken or Slow Cooker Honey Garlic Chicken – currently on the hunt for tasty looking recipes. Side of quinoa and salad.
  • Corned Beef Brisket was on sale at Giant so I bought one and am going to find a recipe for that too.  Not sure what else to do with this.
  • Breakfast egg cakes for dinner.

I think I’m ready. I’ve got a plan and all I need to do is stick to it.  Easier said than done! I’ll check back in this weekend and let you know how it all went.

One step at a time,

-Mama K

Leave a Reply

